h1

who

July 22, 2006

Funny how I said wasn’t going to post much a couple of weeks back. In the last post (the 6th since then) I mentioned how I used to believe that ‘left wing poltics could save the world’. Well, according to a discussion that Ran started and has been picked up by Taognostic this means I was once an insecure person who identified with losers! OK, that’s an unfairly brief summary but at the end of it all Dan has some good advice.

Remember, in civilisation you can’t be honest, or depressed, or sad. Be happy and GO LARGE!

It’s kind of a joke but kind of serious too. I don’t like civilisation in principle but in practice I’m really addicted to certain aspects of it so I should enjoy them while I can. I think if we understand the critique of civlisation but still can’t have fun while we’re in it then we’ve lost. We’d probably be better off in (not so) blissful ignorance.

I’m not sure I’m explaining what I feel very well – and that’s probably not what Dan meant either – but I’m trying to grasp something new here. When I read Ran’s first version of his posting about how people take sides over the Israel issue I though it was the dumbest thing he’d ever written, probably because I was still stuck on my side of the debate and resented having it pointed out. It’s starting to make more sense now and if I can get out of here I’ll be able to come to that issue without my indentity being involved in it. I’ll still be opposed to what Israel is doing but it will be for reasons of Truth, Justice and, umm, other Stuff With Capital Letters.

I think this also helps to explain why I was never comfortable accepting labels like ‘leftist’ or the much more presumptuous ‘progessive’. Maybe a part of me knew that the bullying, right-wing criticism of those groups was kind of on the mark – or maybe I just didn’t want to be sneered at. Clearly I’ve developed ways of side stepping these inadvertant attacks on my identity but also equally clearly it would be better if I figured out what my identity actually is.

2 comments

  1. “I think if we understand the critique of civlisation but still can’t have fun while we’re in it then we’ve lost.”

    Of course – us humans can’t live in perpetual depression. We need fun and parties! That’s nothing to do with civilisation, it’s to do with the fact that we need fun and stimulation and eachother. Aint nothing gonna change that.

    “Well, according to a discussion that Ran started and has been picked up by Taognostic this means I was once an insecure person who identified with losers!”

    Heh, let me put it another way – civilisation does not cater for people’s insecurities or oddbits, which means that to obtain identity, these kind of people often affiliate themselves with a group that is similarly misunderstood or oppressed. It’s about trying to find something we all need, identity. Abusers have usually been fucked up in earlier life, lost identity and then tried to obtain it again through an abusive relationship with their victims which is why they’re so scared of losing their victims.

    “When I read Ran’s first version of his posting about how people take sides over the Israel issue I though it was the dumbest thing he’d ever written, probably because I was still stuck on my side of the debate and resented having it pointed out”

    That’s totally understandable. Keep pondering on it though, I think it’s one the smartest things he’s written, which is why I jumped on it aswell. I think it goes a long way in explaining why people side with who they do. Find your identity and then you don’t need left, right, center or anything.

    I used to think left wing politics would save the world a few years ago :0)

    Posted by: Dan | 07/25/2006


  2. […] The answer to the last question might have something to do with my lack of well defined identity but that’s a whole ‘nother confession. […]



Leave a Reply

