h1

A Media Moment

April 27, 2006

I have to recommend this post from Rigorous Intuition about media reporting on the Iranian situation. Try combining it with this one from Deconsumption where I left a comment at the bottom.

It doesn’t surprise me any more that professional journalists are such willing and able servants of empire, it doesn’t even surprise me that they’re so good at serving the status quo that they make it look like they’re active members of a conspiracy. It doesn’t surprise me, but it does take my breath away at times.

What does still surprise me however is that these journalists actually think they’re doing a good job. I had a brief email exchange on the subject of GE with a senior journalist at New Zealand’s biggest newspaper The Herald. He appeared to be simply reprinting biotech PR so I got in touch and suggested he talk to a couple of independent scientists that I had interviewed as I thought they would provide a credible counter to what he appeared to have been told about GE. To my utter astonishment he replied that he talked to one of these scientists on a regular basis!

He then went on for a bit about how he likes to talk to people on both sides of an argument so that he can better inform his readers and also said that his job as a writer was not to take sides. The usual standard stuff.

He seemed like a nice guy – I was too scared to email him back and explain where he was going wrong. If he couldn’t see it for himself there was no way that I was going to be able to get through to him and being involved with people who are so clearly deluded kind of freaks me out.

Leave a Reply

