h1

Crashblogger

April 14, 2006

There were some great comments by Ran yesterday about the power of words:

The best I can do with words is help people get their minds in a place to better navigate these interesting times, to see opportunity instead of horror, to see opened doors instead of closed doors.

This is actually something Ran excels at. His last essay, a collection of post crash scenarios actually succeeded in lifting my mood for the rest of the day – not necessarily the easiest of things to do I might add.

My fear is that the people who see an apocalyptic horror coming our way in the future and are preparing for it (a sizeable proportion of the peak oil community) will bring it about because there’ll be all these people around the place with bunkers full of tinned spam and defensive munitions waiting for the hungry hordes to come and attack them. Hopefully they’ll all find their way to Ran’s site soon/

Ran also wrote:

I think it’s actually helpful to admit you’re looking forward to the crash, because that puts out in the open something that a lot of people think in secret. It breaks a taboo that prevents us from seeing opportunity in catastrophe. I think pretty much all crashbloggers, even the most “pessimistic,” are craving something, anything, that loosens up this tight, tight world, even if it kills them. As I once wrote:
Of futures where humans survive after this system falls, one of the worst imaginable would be where the earth is barren but the violent selfishness of civilization continues. But we know this as the “postapocalypse” genre of popular adventure movies like The Road Warrior. That’s how bad our own world is — that we fantasize about a world with war, hunger, and no trees, just because we’d get to be outside all day fighting for something that matters, instead of cowering in sterile buildings rearranging abstractions.

That last sentence is fabulous but I want to add that amongst the anti-civ sites I’m hanging out at online it also feels taboo to admit you like civilisation. The truth is I’m going to miss it, I’m going to miss hot showers, rock concerts and the fabulous technical doodads that I’ve bought over the years. I’ve got my life to a point where it’s reasonably disconnected from civilisation and I’m able to pick and choose what I participate in more than most people can. I like having groovy civilised stuff at my disposal but I’m also going to miss the world I grew up in. Even though I know how damaging it is, civilisation’s imminent demise makes me sad.

One comment

  1. Aaron, thank you for this post. You really think a little more critically than others about these issues.

    Posted by: Jim | 04/15/2006



Leave a Reply

